YAP–TEAD

Development of inhibitors of transcription factors

The Hippo pathway controls cell proliferation and apoptosis in multicellular organisms to assure normal tissue development and organ growth. The Hippo pathway is composed of a cascade of kinases that comprises four kinases, MST1/2, SAV, MOB1 and LATS1/2 that control the localization of YAP and TAZ. The downstream effector of the Hippo pathway is the transcription factor YAP–TEAD which is responsible for the transcription of target genes such as CTGF, Cyr61 and Axl.

In the active Hippo pathway (ON), the phosphorylation of YAP (Yes associated protein) and TAZ (transcriptional coactivator with PDZ-binding motif) leads to their retention and degradation in the cytoplasm. In the inactive pathway (OFF), YAP and TAZ are phosphorylated and then migrate in the nucleus to form a transcriptionally active complex with TEAD. Dysregulation of the Hippo pathway and overexpression of YAP, TAZ or TEAD have been observed in various types of cancers, leading to overexpression of genes that confer unique properties to cancer cells such as excessive proliferation, invasiveness and evasion from immune system. The Hippo pathway thus represents a target of choice in the development of drugs for the treatment of cancer.

Hippo.png
YAP TEAD interfaces.tiff

The Hippo pathway can be modulated by stimulating upstream kinases that will thus favor the phosphorylation and retention of YAP in the cytoplasm. However, this approach is challenging since these compounds must act as activators, a mode of action which is difficult to optimize. The Hippo pathway can also be modulated by preventing the formation of the YAP–TEAD complex. The inspection of the YAP–TEAD structure shows that YAP wraps itself around TEAD, creating three interfaces called 1 (red), 2 (orange) and 3 (blue). Peptides that disrupt these interactions have been reported, but these compounds show limitations such as poor pharmacokinetic profiles.

Because it is highly disordered and because it lacks well defined pockets, YAP is a poor target for drug discovery. On the contrary, TEAD is much more organized and can be targeted by small organic molecules. Studies have shown the presence of a palmitic acid molecule which is connected to a cysteine located at the entry of the pocket. TEAD's palmitoylation appears to play an important role in the obtention of a transcriptionally active YAP–TEAD complex. Due to its hydrophobic character, the palmitic acid pocket is particularly suitable to accommodate small molecules. Various compounds have been reported in the literature to bind in this pocket.

YAP TEAD.tiff

Our group is actively working on the development of inhibitors of the YAP–TEAD transcription factor that target the palmitic pocket and that inhibit the expression of associated genes. Compounds are synthesized in our laboratory and are then tested with partners in biophysical assays to evaluate their affinity to TEAD. Their capacity to prevent the auto-palmitoylation of TEAD is then investigated using mass spectrometry while their impact on gene expression is studied using luciferase assays and qPCR. Our research on YAP–TEAD is performed in collaboration with experts in the fields of biophysics, structural biology, biochemistry and cell biology. Docking studies are conducted in our group to propose a binding mode for our compounds and guide our SAR activities.

YAP–TEAD

Développement d'inhibiteurs du facteur de transcription YAP–TEAD

La voie de signalisation Hippo contrôle la prolifération cellulaire ainsi que l'apoptose dans les organismes multicellulaires afin d'assurer le développement normal des tissus et la croissance des organes. La cascade Hippo est composée en amont de quatre kinases, MST1/2, SAV, MOB1 et LATS1/2 qui contrôlent la localisation de YAP et TAZ. L'effecteur en aval est le complexe de transcription YAP–TEAD qui est responsable de la transcription des gènes cibles tels que CTGF, Cyr61 et Axl.

Dans la voie Hippo active (ON), la phosphorylation de YAP (Yes-associated protein) et TAZ (transcriptional coactivator with PDZ-binding motif) mène à leur rétention dans le cytoplasme, empêchant ainsi la formation du complexe YAP–TEAD et inhibant conséquemment l'expression des gènes associés. Dans la voie Hippo inactive (OFF), YAP et TAZ non phosphorylés migrent dans le noyau pour s'associer à TEAD et former un complexe transcriptionnellement actif. Une dérégulation de la voie Hippo et des niveaux élevés de YAP, TAZ ou TEAD ont été observées dans divers types de cancers, menant à une surexpression des gènes associés qui procurent des caractéristiques aux cellules cancéreuses telle qu'un prolifération hors contrôle, un caractère invasif et une évasion face au système immutaire. La voie Hippo représente ainsi une cible attrayante pour le développement de médicaments.

Hippo.png

YAP est une cible peu appropriée pour le développement d'inhibiteurs dû au désordre qu'il présente et à l'absence de poches bien définies pouvant acceuillir de petites molécules. Au contraire, TEAD est bien ordonné et peu être ciblé par des molécules organiques de petite taille. Des études ont démontré la présence d'une molécule d'acide palmitique connectée à une cystéine située à la surface de la protéine. La palmitoylation de TEAD semble jouer un rôle important dans l'obtention du complexe YAP–TEAD. Étant donné son caractère hydrophobe, la poche palmitique est particulièrement bien adaptée pour accueillir une petite molécule. Plusieurs composés qui se lient dans cette poche ont été rapportés dans la littérature.

La voie Hippo peut être modulée en stimulant les kinases en amont qui vont ainsi favoriser la phosphorylation et la rétention de YAP dans le cytoplasme. Cette approche représente toutefois un défi considérable étant donné que les composés doivent agir comme activateurs, un mode d'action difficile à optimiser. La voie Hippo peut aussi être modulée en empêchant la formation du complexe YAP–TEAD. L'analyse du complexe YAP–TEAD montre que YAP s'enroule autour de TEAD pour former trois interactions nommées 1 (rouge), 2 (orange) et 3 (bleu). Des peptides capables de prévenir la formation de ces interactions ont été rapportés, mais ces composés montrent des limitations tel que des mauvais profils pharmacocinétiques.

Notre groupe de recherche travaille sur le développement d'inhibiteurs du complexe YAP–TEAD qui ciblent la poche plamitique de TEAD inhibant ainsi l'expression des gènes associés. Les composés sont synthétisés dans notre laboratoire et sont ensuite évalués dans des tests biophysiques chez des collaborateurs afin de déterminer leur affinité avec TEAD. La capacité des composés à prévenir l'autopalmitoylation de TEAD est ensuite étudiée par spectrométrie de masse alors que l'impact sur l'expression des gènes est explorée par tests de luciférase et de qPCR. Nos travaux sont faits en collaboration avec des experts dans les domaines de la biophysique, la biologie structurale, la biologie cellulaire et la biochimie. Les études d'arimage effectuées dans notre groupe permettent de proposer des modes de liaison pour les molécules qui sont ensuite utilisés pour guider nos études de SAR.