Our laboratory is located on the third floor of the Chemistry Biochemistry (CB) building in the Pierre Dansereau complex. The science complex of the Faculté des Sciences de l'UQAM is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Place des Festivals and a few minutes from downtown, Old Montreal, Chinatown and the Latin Quarter. Montreal is a modern city of 1.78 million inhabitants with a rich historical past where English, French and American influences mix. Montreal is a bilingual city where people speak both French and English.

 

The chemistry department of UQAM has all the infrastructure necessary to carry out advanced research. The presence of the CERMO and nanoqam research centers provides access to cutting-edge equipment required for our work. The proximity of the University of Montreal, McGill and Concordia ensures an intellectual, friendly, rich and diverse environment that promotes exchanges, interactions and mutual aid between the various research groups.

 

Pr. Gagnon's teaching philosophy is based on a framework that leaves room for autonomy and active participation in research projects. Frequent research meetings provide extensive scientific monitoring, while literature and reaction mechanisms meetings help increase scientific knowledge in other fields. Collaborations with academic and industrial research groups in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Europe and Mexico allow students to work in a multidisciplinary collaborative environment. Pr. Gagnon's experience in the pharmaceutical field in Canada, the United States and Austria brings a unique aspect to the training of students in the fields of organic and medicinal chemistry. Our group promotes diversity, inclusion and equity.

 

If you are interested in our research, do not hesitate to contact us to find out about available positions!

Physical address:
Professeur Alexandre Gagnon
Université du Québec à Montréal
Department of chemistry
2101 Jeanne-Mance Street
Montréal, Québec
Canada
H2X 2J6
Postal address:
Professeur Alexandre Gagnon
Université du Québec à Montréal
Department of chemistry
CP 8888
Succursale Centre-Ville
Montréal, Québec
Canada, H3C 3P8
Office: CB–3660
Lab: CB–3450
Phone: 1.514.987.3000 ext 6856
Email: gagnon.alexandre@uqam.ca
Web site: alexgagnonuqam.com

Notre laboratoire se trouve au troisième étage du bâtiment Chimie Biochimie (CB) dans le complexe Pierre Dansereau. Le complexe des sciences de la Faculté des Sciences de l'UQAM est situé dans le coeur de Montréal, à deux pas de la place des festivals et à quelques minutes du centre-ville, du vieux Montréal, du quartier chinois et du quartier latin. Montréal est une ville moderne de 1.78 million d'habitants au riche passé historique où les influences anglaises, françaises et américaines se mélangent. Montréal est une ville bilingue où les gens parlent aussi bien français qu'anglais.

Le département de chimie de l'UQAM possède toute l'infrastructure nécessaire pour effectuer de la recherche avancée. La présence des centres de recherche CERMO et nanoqam permet d'accéder à des équipements de pointe requis pour nos travaux. La proximité des universités de Montréal, McGill et Concordia assure un environnement intellectuel, amical, riche et diversifié qui favorise les échanges, les interactions et l'entraide entre les différents groupes de recherche.

La philosophie d'enseignement du Pr. Gagnon repose sur un encadrement qui laisse place à l'autonomie et à la participation active aux projets de recherche. Des meetings de recherche fréquents permettent d'assurer un suivi scientifique poussé alors que des meetings de littérature et de mécanismes réactionnels permettent d'accroître les connaissances scientifiques dans d'autres domaines. Des collaborations avec des groupes de recherche académiques et industriels de Montréal, du Québec, du Canada, de l'Europe et du Mexique permettent aux étudiantes et étudiants de travailler dans un environnement collaboratif multidisciplinaire. L'expérience du Pr. Gagnon dans le domaine pharmaceutique au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Autriche permet d'apporter un aspect unique à la formation des étudiantes et étudiants dans les domaines de la chimie organique et médicinale. Notre groupe encourage la diversité, l'inclusion et l'équité.

Si vous êtes intéressés par nos recherches, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter afin de connaître les postes disponibles!

Adresse physique:
Professeur Alexandre Gagnon
Université du Québec à Montréal
Département de chimie
2101 Rue Jeanne-Mance
Montréal, Québec
Canada
H2X 2J6
Adresse postale:
Professeur Alexandre Gagnon
Université du Québec à Montréal
Département de chimie
CP 8888
Succursale Centre-Ville
Montréal, Québec
Canada, H3C 3P8
Bureau: CB–3660
Labo: CB–3450
Téléphone: 1.514.987.3000 ext 6856
Email: gagnon.alexandre@uqam.ca
Site web: alexgagnonuqam.com