DNA Methyl Transferases

DNMTs

Blue helix human DNA structure.jpg

Development of inhibitors of DNMTs

Epigenetics is defined as the study of changes that occur on chromosomes without affecting the sequence of DNA and that lead to stable and heritable phenotypes. These changes consist mainly in the installation of epigenetic marks (methyl, acetyl, ubiquityl and sumoyl goups) on the histone tails (lysine and arginine) or on the DNA. These transformations are performed by epigenetic enzymes called writers. The epigenetic marks and then read by proteins called readers to generate a cell response. When the marks are no longer needed, they are removed by enzymes called erasers. These epigenetic processes control the level of compaction of DNA thus enabling (euchromatin) or repressing (heterochromatin) gene transcription. The delicate and complex orchestration of all epigenetic processes permit the regulation of cell processes including cell differentiation.

The methylation of DNA is an epignetic process that leads to the installation of a methyl group CH3 at the C5 position of cytosine on DNA, mainly in regions called CpG islands. This modification is repressive since it leads to the silencing of methylated genes by preventing the binding of transcription factors. The recruitment of MBDs (Methyl Binding Domain proteins) also contributes to the silencing of methylated genes.

DNA methylation.tiff

Although it is less dynamic than the methylation of histone tails, the methylation of DNA is nonetheless a reversible process. Enzymes called TET perform the demethylation of DNA by oxidizing the CH3 group into the corresponding aldehyde CHO and then the carboxylic acid CO2H. The balance between methylation and demethylation processes is crucial for the maintenance of cellular functions and plays a particularly important role in cell differentiation.

Xray DNMT.png
DNMT SAH pocket.png
DNMT3A_SAH_co-cristalicé_1.png

DNA methyltransferases DNMTs are enzymes that belong to the class of epigenetic writers. These enzymes catalyze the transfer of a CH3 group from SAM (S-adenosylmethionine) to the C5 position of cytosine to produce C5-Me-cytosine on DNA along with SAH (S-adenosylhomocysteine). DNMT3A and DNMT3B are responsible for de novo methylation by installing the first methyl groups on unmethylated DNA during the development of the embryo. DNMT3L (DNMT3-like) lacks certain catalytic domains and is thus catalytically inactive. However, this protein plays a crucial role by modulating the activity of DNMT3A and DNMT3B. Lastly, DNMT1 shows a greater selectivity towards hemi-methylated DNA and is thus in charge of maintaining the DNA methylation patterns during cell division. The DNA methylation mechanism begins by the attack of the DNMT's cysteine to the C6 position of cytosine to generate an amino-enamine-like structure that attacks the methyl group of SAM through its C5 carbon. The removal of the hydrogen atom in C5 re-establishes the double bond, producing C5-Me-cytosine, and regenerates the catalytic DNMT's cysteine.

mechanism DNMTs.png

An overexpression of DNMTs along with a dysregulation of DNA methylation patterns has been observed in various types of cancers, leading to a global hypomethylation of DNA and a local hypermethylation and silencing of certain genes such as the tumour supressor genes (TSGs). The inhibition of DNMTs leads to the demethylation and reactivation of epigenetically silenced genes by preventing the maintenance of the methylation patterns, thus demonstrating the value of DNMTs as drug targets in drug discovery.

Vidaza and dacogen are the only commercially available drugs that target DNMTs. These pharmaceutics do not inhibit directly DNMTs. Instead, these compounds are first phosphorylated and then incorporated in the DNA where they trap the DNMTs' catalytic cysteine, leading to the degradation of the enzymes. However, due to their mechanism of action, these drugs show considerable cytotoxicity. In addition, because of their nucleosidic structures, these therapeutic agents possess low half-lives as well as poor pharmacokinetic profiles.

Vidaza et dacogen.tiff
Mechanism Vidaza and Dacogen.png

Few natural products have demonstrated a capacity to inhibit DNMTs and reactivate epigenetically silenced genes including TSGs. However, these compounds often operate through an indirect mode of action or a non specific or unknown mechanism. In addition, they often present chemical features that are undesirable in medicinal chemistry. Therefore, there exist a considerable need for small non-nucleoside DNMT inhibitors that possess adequate biopharmaceutical properties.

NSC series.tiff

Our group made its entry in the field of DNMTs in 2013 by exploring the SAR and activity of NSC319745, a compound that was reported as a potential inhibitor of DNMTs. The resynthesis of this compound indicated that when pure, this molecule does show inhibitory activity against DNMTs. SAR studies led to the identification of AK–I–85, a compound that inhibits DNMT3A with an IC50 of 36uM.

XRay NSC106084 et 14778.tiff

Afterwards, our group developed a synthetic route to access NSC106084 and NSC14778 and demonstrated that these compounds, when pure do not inhibit DNMTs. The nature of these compounds was confirmed by X-ray crystallography. Our work on DNMT inhibitors is important because it emphasizes the challenges associated with the discovery of inhibitors for these epigenetic enzymes. It also shows the tendency of assays to lead to false positives, the necessity of confirming the activity of hits with resynthesized materials, and the variability between assays.

Our group is currently working on the development of new DNMT inhibitors. To reach this goal, we have established collaborations with leaders across the world in the fields of biochemistry, NMR and computational chemistry. Our approach is based on various techniques such as resynthesis of hits from the literature, docking, NMR screening and rational design.

Méthyl

transférases de l'ADN:

DNMTs

Blue helix human DNA structure.jpg

Développement d'inhibiteurs des méthyltransférases de l'ADN

L'épigénétique se définit comme étant l'étude des changements qui se produisent sur les chromosomes sans affecter la séquence de l'ADN et qui mènent à des phénotypes hériditaires. Ces changements consistent principalement en l'installation de marques épigéniques (groupements méthyle, acétyle, ubiquityle, sumoyle) sur les queues des histones (lysines, arginines) ou sur l'ADN. Ces transformations sont effectuées par des enzymes nommées writers. Les marques sont ensuite lues par des protéines nommées readers pour ainsi générer une réponse cellulaire. Lorsque la marque n'est plus nécessaire, celle-ci est retirée par des enzymes nommées erasers. Ces modifications épigénétiques permettent de modifier le niveau de compaction des gènes afin qu'ils soient accessibles (euchromatine) ou non accessibles pour la transcription (hétérochromatine). L'orchestration délicate et complexe des processus épigénétiques permet entre autre la régulation de fonctions cellulaires fondamentales telle que la différenciation cellulaire.

La méthylation de l'ADN est un processus épigénétique qui mène à l'installation d'un groupement méthyle CH3 en position C5 de l'ADN, principalement dans les régions appelées îlots CpG. Cette modification est répressive puisqu'elle mène au silençage de gènes méthylés en empêchant leur interaction avec les facteurs de transcription. Le recrutement de protéines MBD (Methyl Binding Domain proteins) contribue aussi au silençage des gènes méthylés.

DNA methylation.tiff

Quoique moins dynamique que la méthylation des queues d'histones, la méthylation de l'ADN est néanmoins réversible. Des enzymes nommées TET effectuent la déméthylation de l'ADN en oxydant le groupement CH3 en aldéhyde puis en acide carboxylique. L'équilibre en la méthylation et la déméthylation de l'ADN est important dans le maintien des fonctions cellulaires et joue un rôle particulièrement important dans la différenciation cellulaire.

Les méthyltransférases de l'ADN (DNMTs pour DNA Methyl Transferases) sont des enzymes épigénétiques de type writers qui catalysent la méthylation de l'ADN en transférant le groupement CH3 du SAM (S-adénosylméthionine) vers la cytosine pour produire la C5-Me-Cytosine sur l'ADN et le SAH (S-adénosylhomocystéine). Les DNMT3A et DNMT3B sont responsables de la méthylation de novo en installant les premiers goupements méthyles sur l'ADN non méthylé lors du développement de l'embryon. La DNMT3L (pour DNA3-like) ne possède pas de domaine catalytique mais joue un rôle important en s'associant aux DNMT3A et DNMT3B pour moduler leur activité. Finalement, la DNMT1 possède une meilleure affinité pour l'ADN hémiméthylé et est par conséquent responsable du maintien des patrons de méthylation lors de la division cellulaire. Le mécanisme de méthylation de la cytosine débute par l'attaque de la cystéine en position C6. L'attaque de l'espèce amino-énamine ainsi générée sur le CH3 du SAM suivi du retrait du H en C5 permet de produire la C5-Me-Cytosine et de regénérer la cystéine catalytique.

mechanism DNMTs.png

Une surexpression des DNMTs ainsi qu'un dérèglement des patrons de méthylation menant à une hypométhylation globale et une hyperméthylation locale de certains gènes dont les gènes suppresseurs de tumeurs ont été observés dans plusieurs types de cancers. L'inhibition des DNMTs permet de réactiver les gènes silençés en empêchant le maintien des patrons de méthylation, démontrant la valeur des DNMTs comme cibles thérapeutiques.

Le vidaza et le dacogène sont les deux seuls médicaments commerciaux ciblant les DNMTs. Ces drogues n'inhibent pas directement les DNMTs mais fonctionnent plutôt par incorporation de leurs dérivés phophorylés dans l'ADN où elles vont ensuite piéger de façon irréversible la cystéine catalytique des DNMTs menant alors à leur dégradation. Toutefois, étant donné leur mécanisme d'action, ces composés montrent une cytotoxicité importante. De plus, dû à leur structure nucléosidique, ces médicaments possèdent des faibles temps de demi-vies ainsi que des mauvais profils pharmacocinétiques.

Vidaza et dacogen.tiff
Mechanism Vidaza and Dacogen.png

Quelques produits naturels ont démontré une capacité à inhiber les DNMTs et à réactiver les gènes épigénétiquement silençés dont les gènes suppresseurs de tumeurs. Toutefois, ces composés opèrent souvent par un mécanisme d'action indirect, non spécifique ou inconnu, en plus de posséder dans certains cas des fonctions non désirables en chimie médicinale. Ainsi, il existe un besoin important pour de petites molécules non nucléosidiques capables d'inhiber les DNMTs et possédant des propriétés biopharmaceutiques adéquates.

NSC series.tiff

Notre groupe a fait son entrée dans le domaine des DNMTs en 2013 en explorant le NSC319745, un composé rapporté comme un inhibiteur potentiel des DNMTs. La resynthèse de ce composé a permis de démontrer que lorsque pur, il ne possède pas d'activité contre les DNMTs. Des études de SAR ont mené au AK–I–85, un composé qui possède un IC50 de 36 uM contre la DNMT3A.

XRay NSC106084 et 14778.tiff

Par la suite, notre groupe a effectué la resynthèse du NSC106084 ainsi que du NSC14778 et a démontré que les composés purs resynthétisés ne possèdent pas d'activité contre les DNMTs. La structure de ces composés a été établie par diffraction de rayons-X sur des cristaux. Ces travaux sont importants car ils démontrent la difficulté reliée à l'identification de hits contre les DNMTs, la tendance des essais à générer des faux positifs, la nécessité de confirmer l'activité sur des hits purs resynthétisés et les variations qui existent entre les différents essais biochimiques.

Notre groupe travaille activement à développer de nouveaux inhibiteurs des DNMTs. Pour ce faire, nous avons établi des collaborations à travers le monde avec des experts dans les domaines de la biochimie, de la RMN et de la chimie computationnelle. Notre approche se base sur différentes techniques telles que la resynthèse de hits de la littérature, le docking, le criblage par RMN et le design rationnel.